Article Tools

Font size
Share This

Photo: N/A, License: N/A

Participants in the Comm Classic included, from left: Dr. Terry Cochran, Gina Cochran, Darryl Locke and Nancy Luciani Nealon.

The Waverly Community House recently hosted its sixteenth annual Comm Classic Golf Tournament to benefit programming and recreation at the Comm. Seventy-nine golfers participated in the tournament, which was held at the Country Club of Scranton in Clarks Summit. Golfers included: Kim Barrows, Mike Barrows, Janet Blaum, Tom Butler, Sharon Byrne, Jerry Calpin, Paul Casparro, Jeff Chrysler, Joe Chun, Karen Chun, Gina Cochran, Terry Cochran, Thomas Coleman, Yvonne Cronkey, Terry Dempsey, Patrick Doherty, Doug Duguay, Sandy Durbin, Tom Durbin, Steve Farrell, John Fritch, Nevin Gerber, Jeff Haudenschield, Tom Hillebrand, Lou Houck, Michele Hughes, Chris Kelly, Joseph Kelly, Kim Stampien Kelly, Tom Kelly, Michael Kwashnik, Chris Langan, James Langan, Darryl Lock, Jeff Marquardt, Sally Marquardt, Mario Matrone, Robert Mazzoni, Annie McDonough, Joe Messina, Debbie Meyer, Keith Meyer, Jeff Nalevanko, Nancy Nealon, Anders Nelson, Kathy Nelson, Cindy Neubert, Daniel Nulton, Jim O’Malley, Girard O’Neill, Stacy Ossenfort, Tom Ostrowski, Bill Rhodes, Scott Robinson, Ryan Rogan, Chris Rothwell, Pat Sabbatino, Barb Sanders, Jason Schoenberg, Anthony Sebastianelli, Alan Silverman, Steve Silverman, Linda Sproul, Bray Stahller, Patti Staples, Tom Staples, Jay Steele, Bill Thomas, Patti Thomas, Joe Vitzacovitch, John Walker, Kevin Walker, Bev Walsh, Joe Woelkers, Paul Woelkers, Mary Wok, Michael Wolk and Mary Ann Yonchak.

Sponsorship support for the event came from the following local businesses: Eckerlsey and Ostrowski LLP, Northeast Rehabilitation Associates PC, PNC Bank and Shale Rail (platinum sponsors); Tom and Grace Hillebrand, Manci Insurance Agency, MGM Masonry, Peoples Security Bank and the Benefits Group (gold sponsors); American Janitor & Paper Supply, Burkavage Design Associates, Kane Trucking, Lackawanna Mobile X-Ray, Law Offices of William M. Blaum, Jim Colangelo and Dave Patchcoski of Met Life, Pittston Machine, R.J. Walker Co., Timothy J. Pryle and the Quandel Group (silver and bronze sponsors).

Prize winners are listed below:

• Men’s Flight No. 1: Jason Schoenberg, Alan Silverman, Steve Silverman and Tony Sebastianelli.

• Men’s Flight No. 2: John Fritch, Michael Kwashnick, Paul Casparro and James Langan.

• Women’s Flight No. 1: Kathy Nelson, Mary AnnYonchak, Bray Stahller and Bev Walsh.

• Mixed Flight No. 1: Joe Chun, Karen Chun, Janet Blaum and Bill Vitzacovitch.

• Most Honest Golfers: Sharon Byrne, Michele Hughes and Barb Sanders.

• Closest to the Hole: Bray Stahller and Terry Cochran.

• Longest Drive: Nancy Luciani Nealon and Terry Cochran.

• Skins Game: Jason Schoenberg, Alan Silverman, Steve Silverman and Tony Sebastianelli; Nancy Nealon, Darryl Lock, Terry Cochran and Gina Cochran; Michael Wolk, Mary Wolk, Keith Meyer and Debbie Meyer; Joe Chun, Karen Chun, Janet Blaum and Bill Vitzacovitch.

The day concluded with cocktails and dinner and an auction featuring a seven-night stay in a Vermont vacation home, a discount book for Elk Mountain, an official NFL Eagles’ jersey signed by runningback LeSean McCoy, a foursome for golf and lunch at the Country Club of Scranton, a twosome for golf at Saucon Valley Country Club and a cooking class and dinner for eight at Chef’s Table at Keystone College.

Prizes were provided by BrucelliAdvertising, C3 Group, Corky’s, Bob Dickert/Carl Von Lugers, Patti and Doug Duguay, Gerhart Scales, Glenburn Grill, Idle Hour Lanes, Jaya Yoga, Lakeland Golf Course, Olive Garden, Patsel’s, Pizza Hut, Red Lobster, Regal Cinemas, Sanderson State Street Salon, Pat and Tom Staples, State Street Grill, The Benefits Group, The Reeds at Shelter Haven in Stone Harbor, New Jersey; Waverly General Store and Mike and Mary Wolk.